All About Space

 Mars, Earth, Moon, Saturn, Jupiter, Venus, Sun and Stars, Mercury, Meteoroids and Asteroids, Comets









pluto.pngBefore a flight by the ship “New Horizons”, people didn’t really know too much about Pluto. After it’s discovery in 1930, Pluto was thought to be the ninth planet, and was later re-classified as a dwarf planet. Pluto is composed of rock and ice, and has a very thin atmosphere of methane gas and nitrogen. It has a tan-red surface, and is tilted 122.5 degrees on it’s axis. Pluto has six moons. Their names are Charon, Hydra, Nix, Kerberus, and Styx. Charon is the biggest. Pluto has an extreme elliptical orbit. Because of the shape of the order, Pluto enters Neptune’s orbit once every 248 earth years for around 20 years. Contrary to common belief, there are very few craters on Pluto. That is proof that Pluto is somehow still being shaped. Pictures of Pluto from satellites reveals really tall ice mountains. The average temperature is around 40 kelvin, which is -233.15 degrees celcius. It is believed that Pluto has a small rocky core, and a thick mantle of ice. Although we have lots of information on Pluto, the data from the “New Horizon” is being and will continue to be analysed for many more years to come.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s